Tuesday, February 23, 2010

NICU

I am so happy to say that i was able to finally get into the NICU. The restrictions have not been totally lifted but they are starting to allow students in again. I had a wonderful time. From what my mentor told me, they have the most flexible hours ever. Although the NICU is a very sad place to be it can also be a very cheerful place.
I got a tour through the NICU and somethings got explained to me. It was an awesome experience. Starting in July after i turn 15 i am able to go in a be a part of the cuddling program. The cuddling program is a volunteer program that allows people 15 and up to go in and hold a baby, feed a baby, bathe a baby, and just stay with that baby for a little while. I know some people may think that i dont want someone i dont know touching my sick baby. well they do get the parents permission obviously. but the cuddling program is mostly for the babies that were born with alchol in their body due to the mother having alchol while pregnant.
This is a very good program. They always get a lot of people in to help out. I really enjoyed going in and getting a tour. But because all of the restrictions werent totally removed i couldnt be in for long. I was only there for an hour. there was a lot going on and there were a ton of babies. they have a whole section for the NICU but there are so many babies that they have moved into part of the PICU. that is very sad but alot of the babies were getting ready to go home.
Although alot were getting ready to go home there were alot that had a long road ahead of them and some only got a 50-60% survival rate.
I had alot of fun and i will be going back in May for 6 hours instead of 1.

Retainers

Ok so i have had retainers since june. well i hate them and they hurt and are huge for my mouth. I am suppose to where them 24/7 but i barely ever wear them. I think my teeth are perfectly straight and i have suffered for 3 years having the braces on.
well anyway im not random lol. i went to the ortho yesterday and for the first six months i didnt wear them at all. then the night before my appointment i tried forcing them in. yea well that didnt work. so i learned my lesson then and when she told me in december to come back in 2 months i thought ok ill try and put them in more often. well i did but still not enough. they hurt so bad and make my gums bleed and tear up the inside of my mouth. well when i went back yesterday she yelled at me for not wearing them all the time.
Luckily my dad brought me and when she went out to talk to him he just told me that i had to wear them when i was at home because it makes my talking weird and i dont like it and people were making fun of me because i couldnt say my 's'. so i wore them all the way up until i ate dinner then i put them back in and wore them the rest of the night.
ever since i have gotten retainers i have been afraid that i am goin to "accidently" throw them away. my mom has had dreams about her throwing them away and then she gets all paranoid. they cost $125 for 1 retainer and i need 4. 1 for the top and bottom during the day and then 1 for the top and bottom for night time. i dont have to wear the one on the top and bottom at night because i have stopped gridning my teeth or whatever.
well theres is my horror story lol. i hate retainers and honestly i would rather have braces on still. if i broke a bracket my parents would take me to the ortho and they would glue it back on. no cost. they didnt hurt as much as these stupid retainers.